Pistol v revolver for seldom use

This is a discussion on Pistol v revolver for seldom use within the Home (And Away From Home) Defense Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I am a total newbie with guns but feel obligated to protect my family. I will purchase a gun tomorrow but am somewhat torn on ...

Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast
Like Tree114Likes

Thread: Pistol v revolver for seldom use

Question Pistol v revolver for seldom use

I am a total newbie with guns but feel obligated to protect my family. I will purchase a gun tomorrow but am somewhat torn on revolver vs a pistol. Specifically I am considering a Taurus revolver vs a glock. The reason I am favoring a revolver is reliability. I will not be touching the gun except a few times where I take it to the range to get comfortable within the first few months. God willing it will sit in my safe after that and I'll never need to use it. My questions for the resident experts are

1) should I consider a pistol (eg glock) if I will go years without touching the gun or just stick with a revolver

2) is a 38 special sufficient stopping power

FYI I would prefer a pump action shotgun but the wife is squeamish around guns and an out of sight revolver in a bedside biometric safe is the next best thing per my research. Also I have small children around.

Thanks for ur insight.
    ArmyCop likes this.

2. Remove Ads

Distinguished Member Array 5lima30ret's Avatar
    1) No
    2) Yes, but I would go with a medium frame S&W, Ruger, or Colt (even used would be better than Taurus IMHO).
    Wecome and good luck!
    Retired Police Lieutenant, Retired USAF Reserve, Glock Armorer, NC CWP, HR-218 Qualified
    Second generation American, Third generation Legionnaire
    "I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me" Phil 4:13

I would seriously consider the Glock 19, in 9mm. Gen 3 if you can find one, Gen 4, if not.
    Bad Bob likes this.

Distinguished Member Array DingBat's Avatar