Looking For Some Advice

This is a discussion on Looking For Some Advice within the Law Enforcement, Military & Homeland Security Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; So my kid has an oral interview in a couple of weeks for a position with the Border Patrol. The Wife is out right now ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Looking For Some Advice

Distinguished Member Array CT-Mike's Avatar

Looking For Some Advice

So my kid has an oral interview in a couple of weeks for a position with the Border Patrol.

The Wife is out right now buying him a suit so that he will look decent.

If anyone has any tips for the kid on how to do decently during the interview?

I have already told them to have a firm handshake, don't interrupt, make good eye contact, etc, but I have no experience with a LEO oriented interview and am looking for help.

Thanks.
    "The natural progress of things is for liberty to yield, and government to gain ground."

- Thomas Jefferson

"I'm the arrow, you're my bow, shoot me forth and I will go"

"Do not let any individual posts put a knot in your Big Boy Under-Roos"

2. Remove Ads

Administrator
    "Yes, Sir" & "No, Sir" always helps.

Good Luck to him.

Answer honestly and be prepared for follow up questions based on his answers.
    Show neither over aggressiveness, nor timidity.

No hang over, clear eyed, neatly trimmed hair. Don't get too comfortable, sit straight. Don't bring a 6 pack to the interview. LOL
    Glock G22 .40 Cal.
    SA 1911 A-1 .45 ACP

1- research as much as possible about the job, and the interviewer (if possible)
    2- arrive 10-15 min early
    3- clean shaven, hair cut, well groomed
    4- shoes shined
    5- smile, firm hand shake and eye contact
    6- brief pause before answering the question
    7- make sure his voice projects enough with good pitch - no too low or too loud