What's the process for the goverment to burn down your house?

This is a discussion on What's the process for the goverment to burn down your house? within the Law Enforcement, Military & Homeland Security Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; The bomb house in California appears to have been a rental, so landlord lost his property. What would be the process for your house to ...

Thread: What's the process for the goverment to burn down your house?

The bomb house in California appears to have been a rental, so landlord lost his property. What would be the process for your house to be seized and destroyed? Is the owner just out of luck?
    I'm not a lawyer or a LEO, just a pantload with a computer.

I would guess they use emminant domain laws to obtain the house. Usually in a case of emminent domain, the owner receives fair market value pluss percentages for other things. They usuall come out reasonable well in the process.
    I can't imagine they could destroy the propertyjust because they wanted to.

Does that still apply when the property is used in a crime? I wouldn't think so. Never heard of someone being given fair market value when property was seized in a crime.

Michael

Hey, at least they built a fire wall around the house so they didn't burn down the rest of the neighborhood. I've seen that happen before!

Remember Philadelphia and the group MOVE in 1985?

Police dropped some incendiary out of a helicopter on a barricaded group of Black Panthers and another group called MOVE in a tenement house which caused a conflagration that ended up burning down over 60 tenement houses and leaving 300 people homeless.

At least someone is learning.

-Bark'n
    Semper Fi

"The gun is the great equalizer... For it is the gun, that allows the meek to repel the monsters; Whom are bigger, stronger and without conscience, prey on those who without one, would surely perish."