Evacuation ? for LEOs

Evacuation ? for LEOs

This is a discussion on Evacuation ? for LEOs within the Law Enforcement, Military & Homeland Security Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Been watching a lot of severe weather news the last few days, and the phrase "mandatory evacuation" keeps popping up on the news. What is ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Evacuation ? for LEOs

Evacuation ? for LEOs

Been watching a lot of severe weather news the last few days, and the phrase "mandatory evacuation" keeps popping up on the news. What is the authority that makes it "mandatory". If I'm fool enough to want to stay on my own property, what is the law on removing me? Is most of this a strong bluff?

On the flip side, what keeps me from returning to my property after an evacuation, other than my safety?
    I'm not a lawyer or a LEO, just a pantload with a computer.

Well let me say this IMHO. Mandatory seems to indicate they have some rule of law authorizing LEO to forcefully evacuate you. I am unaware of folks actually taken by force from their home by LEO. However there must be a point where, if you refuse to leave, that cops/fire /EMS are no longer obligated to respond/protect you. I assume that if you are gone it makes their lives much easier and legal confilts less. That being said the news is filled with the bodies of folks who refused to evacuate the flash flood warning or drove around the traffic barricade and were swept away. I get it, I would hate to leave my house only to come back and what did survive was looted by those thugs who snuck in or never left. It's a tough call. Once you are evacuated and on the safe side of the barricade I think that their legal authority to prevent you from returning is a little stronger. Just my $0.02
    Last edited by Timezoneguy; April 26th, 2011 at 01:02 PM.
    In a gun fight, you can not miss fast enough, to catch up.

Senior Member Array Chad Rogers's Avatar