Is it possible to obtain a concealed carry permit with Post Traumatic Stress Disorder

This is a discussion on Is it possible to obtain a concealed carry permit with Post Traumatic Stress Disorder within the Law Enforcement, Military & Homeland Security Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Hello, I'm a veteran of OIF II and am 50% service connected for PTSD. I mainly suffer from nightmares and had no idea that going ...

Like Tree3Likes
  • 3 Post By mlr1m

Thread: Is it possible to obtain a concealed carry permit with Post Traumatic Stress Disorder

Is it possible to obtain a concealed carry permit with Post Traumatic Stress Disorder

Hello, I'm a veteran of OIF II and am 50% service connected for PTSD. I mainly suffer from nightmares and had no idea that going to the VA for help would label me. I just took my concealed carry class and applied for my permit. When I signed the form to release my medical records from the VA I soon began to worry that I may be disqualified because of my rating. My condition has gotten much better over the last couple years and I would say I'm pretty much 100% besides the occasional nightmare. Does anyone know If I will more than likely be turned down for my permit? I've never been hospitalized or committed. I just went to the VA several times when I got back home.

2. Remove Ads

It will depend on your state,Al,has no predjudice on vets with PTSD,no matter the level,I collect my 20% every month,but your info will be kept in the Gov's super-computer.

Like has been said above it can vary from state to state. If that is the only skeleton in your closet you can be my wing man anytime. Heck, you can lead.

My only good advice is to be as open and honest as possible. If you try to hide information and they find it, well lets just say it doesn't shed a good light on what is found.
    Anticipation of Death is Worse Than Death Itself.
    Psalm 46:10 "Be still, and know that I am God;

VIP Member