Difference between TX DPS and PD

This is a discussion on Difference between TX DPS and PD within the Law Enforcement, Military & Homeland Security Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I am currently majoring in Criminal Justice and plan to attend the DPS academy in Austin next summer. But can anyone help me decide between ...

Thread: Difference between TX DPS and PD

I am currently majoring in Criminal Justice and plan to attend the DPS academy in Austin next summer. But can anyone help me decide between the Texas DPS and working for the Austin Police Department. I want a job where I can get into some action and help the normal public aswell. I am afraid if I into the DPS all I will be doing is giving speeding tickets and sobriety tests. And thats not what I want. I want to get out and help.

Quote Originally Posted by '75scout View Post
    I am currently majoring in Criminal Justice and plan to attend the DPS academy in Austin next summer. But can anyone help me decide between the Texas DPS and working for the Austin Police Department. I want a job where I can get into some action and help the normal public aswell. I am afraid if I into the DPS all I will be doing is giving speeding tickets and sobriety tests. And thats not what I want. I want to get out and help.
    Don't forget those roadside inspections of big rigs. That seems to be about 75% of our local troopers' day. The rest is accident investigations and providing backup when the SO is understaffed.

Senior Member Array hsuCowboy98's Avatar
    In DPS you will be running Highway Patrol for at least 3 years, and yes, you will be mainly giving tickets and tests etc. Then again, DWI and speeding drivers kill many many times more people every year than any gun-wielding criminal, so dont think of it as not helping out the public, think of it as keeping some idiot from killing someone elses mother/brother/father/entire family.