Hard Armor Insert

Hard Armor Insert

This is a discussion on Hard Armor Insert within the Law Enforcement, Military & Homeland Security Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I'm a cop and I currently wear a PACA IIIA vest but I've been looking into getting a good hard armor insert to put in ...

Hard Armor Insert

I'm a cop and I currently wear a PACA IIIA vest but I've been looking into getting a good hard armor insert to put in the front of my vest. My questions are: What brands are good? What material is best considering weight vs protection? Is there anything else I need to know or consider? Thank you for your time.

Senior Member Array Crescentstar's Avatar
    I used to wear a Kevlar covered steel insert, but stopped due to extra weight and stiffness. One opinion is that a hard insert will cause a bullet to deflect up into your head or down into your body, which is another reason I switched to a soft insert. I don't have any data to support either opinion, but the soft insert was definitely more comfortable.

If you are currently wearing a 3A you are already pretty well protected considering a level 2 is fairly standard. Just curious, why so much coverage? If you are in that much danger, you probably need hard tactical armor, not a concealed vest. I personally wouldn't wear a 3A.
    "Clearly that's a YOU problem not a ME problem."

VIP Member
    Are you talking about rifle plates to take it up to level 4?

There are several brands on the market the lighter weight ceramics are of course more expensive. The issue you will find is that the wearing of the plates will make your concealable vest now non concealable and the sheer weight of the plates will wear you down.

I would look at GT Distributors or Botach Tactical to get an idea of what you want.