LEOSA Carrying in NYC (do's and don'ts)

This is a discussion on LEOSA Carrying in NYC (do's and don'ts) within the Law Enforcement, Military & Homeland Security Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Hello, I have been working as a LEO for almost 5 years now and I am leaving for NYC in the morning for a couple ...

Thread: LEOSA Carrying in NYC (do's and don'ts)

LEOSA Carrying in NYC (do's and don'ts)

Hello, I have been working as a LEO for almost 5 years now and I am leaving for NYC in the morning for a couple days to see family. I was wondering if there is anything I need to know about carrying concealed in NYC. For example, another LEO informed me that NYC doesn't allow hollow point ammo, is this correct? My dept only allows us to carry our duty weapon off duty, which is a M&P 40c (with or without a full size mag with a grip extension) but per policy we are only allowed to carry our duty ammo in our weapon, which is Hollow point. is there any truth to this? anything else I need to do? I am planning on making a phone call tomorrow to NYPD to get my facts strait, but in the meantime any thoughts would be helpful.

2. Remove Ads

As far as NYC, I Don't know much about it & Don't care too,,, Good luck, As long as you have a badge & the credentials to go with it,,, Ya should be fine JMO ; )

H/D
    A Native Floridian = RARE

IT'S OUR RIGHTS>THEY WANT TO WRONG
    H/D

Yeah that was what i thought until one of our aux. deputies told me he had a friend that had some problems in NYC. Ive carryed in several other states without problems, but mostly down south and out west. (florida, SC, NV, West VA, NC, VA, and Maryland) I usually trade patches whenever I go out of town so I do stop and talk to the local LEOs.

Distinguished Member
    Per the LEOSA amendment in 2010 JHP ammo is fine anywhere in the states, it is NJ that bans it for it's residents.