Speaking to an LEO

Speaking to an LEO

This is a discussion on Speaking to an LEO within the Law Enforcement, Military & Homeland Security Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Although I have little experience in being in a situation police are involved I have always wondered if there is a preferred way they want ...

Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast
Like Tree118Likes

Thread: Speaking to an LEO

Speaking to an LEO

Although I have little experience in being in a situation police are involved I have always wondered if there is a preferred way they want to be addressed. I've used both sir and officer on separate occasions. So for those of you who are LEOs do you prefer sir/ma'am or officer? Something else?
    ArmyCop likes this.

Senior Member Array WannabeaCPA's Avatar
    All the times I've had encounters with were usually very business like. Not friendly. Most don't even wave when you pass by and wave at them.
    NONAME762 likes this.

...My first words are "Hey, Bud" or "Hey, Girl"...and I always smile and wave...and very few don't return it...I guess I just look so harmless I'm not worth the attitude...I haven't found two unfriendly cops since I hit Texas in '84...of course, I haven't been to Temple...
    ...I've had 3 tickets in the years...good attitudes, all ...two warnings on expired stickers...
    031131, 64zebra and NONAME762 like this.

Lol if they weren't an average of 10 or more years older than me I might consider hey bud or hey girl

...if I remember correctly that long ago...it was "Howdy, Sir" or "Howdy, Ma'am" when I was young...
    64zebra and NONAME762 like this.

Quote Originally Posted by 031131 View Post
    Although I have little experience in being in a situation police are involved I have always wondered if there is a preferred way they want to be addressed. I've used both sir and officer on separate occasions. So for those of you who are LEOs do you prefer sir/ma'am or officer? Something else?
    Dude?