Getting back in after medical discharge

This is a discussion on Getting back in after medical discharge within the Law Enforcement, Military & Homeland Security Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Hello everyone, I got medically discharged from the Army Reserves back in 2011 due to a small heart attack I had in 2010. I fought ...

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By A1C Lickey

Thread: Getting back in after medical discharge

Hello everyone, I got medically discharged from the Army Reserves back in 2011 due to a small heart attack I had in 2010. I fought it for over a year as I volunteered for a deployment to Afghanistan and was ready to go. Unfortunately when it happened that got cancelled out. Eventually they ended up giving me the medical discharge. Unfortunately when I lost my civilian job as a security manager I became desperate and tried the Air Force but they ended up medically disqualifying me.

Well now I am a lot better, my cardiologist has had me off the meds for a year and a half, no damage was done to my heart and I passed all my stress tests and blood tests. I am in better shape than most people my age. (I am 25)

Since I am taking classes at ATIC through my local community college I am looking into the Intel fields and MOS's. I have a Dr letter and blood test results which show I am fit and active.

What else can I do to help me get back in and overturn the medical disqualification?

Talk to a recruiter
    Then I heard the voice of the Lord saying, “Whom shall I send? And who will go for us?”
    And I said, “Here am I. Send me!”

Isaiah 6:8

VIP Member
    Not exactly how to word it or how to request one but you may want to request a waiver physical to requalify. Back when I was on active I went that route to pass a flight physical and apply for aircrew status.
    When you have to shoot, shoot. Don't talk.
    "Don't forget, incoming fire has the right of way."