1st LEO encounter

This is a discussion on 1st LEO encounter within the Law Enforcement, Military & Homeland Security Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Well I've been carrying for 4 years, and had my first LEO encounter this weekend, and it was pretty uneventfull. We were driving down south ...

Thread: 1st LEO encounter

Senior Member Array blueyedevil's Avatar

1st LEO encounter

Well I've been carrying for 4 years, and had my first LEO encounter this weekend, and it was pretty uneventfull.

We were driving down south to go to my buddies cabin for a weekend of turkey hunting and relaxation, and my girlfriends car (which has been a real PITA ever since she bought it) kept accelerating on cruise control after going up a hill. Figured it might just be the cruise control, so I told her to turn it off, nope still accelerating. So tell her to pop her into nuetral engine revs, tell her to pull over quick and turn off the engine while I hit the button for the hazards.

I get on the phone to the mechanic and step out of the car and smokey pulls up behind us, I wave to him open the hood and go about trying to see if I can unstick the throttle while talking to the mechanic. Meanwhile my GF talks to the Highway Patrolman and I assume explains the situation. After a minute or two while I was dinking around in the hood he comes over and does the "there's your problem" thing and unsticks the throttle, tells my GF to go in and press the pedal a couple times and sure enough, problem solved. I tell him "thanks alot" and he says "no problem, but do you have a permit for that weapon", At which point I realize I was probably printing like a SOB bent over the car, I say "sure do" grab my wallet and as soon as I start to pull my permit out he says "good enough for me".