Peace Officer question

This is a discussion on Peace Officer question within the Law Enforcement, Military & Homeland Security Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; The Colorado Department of corrections is hiring community parole officer trainees. POST academy to be completed, at the trainees expense, after hire. According to the ...

Thread: Peace Officer question

Senior Member Array tanksoldier's Avatar

Peace Officer question

The Colorado Department of corrections is hiring community parole officer trainees. POST academy to be completed, at the trainees expense, after hire.

According to the job description these officers serve as a "Level 1a Peace Officer". For the life of me I can't find a definition of what that means.

Are they peace officers 24/7 or only peace officers while on-duty like most corrections officers?
    "I am a Soldier. I fight where I am told, and I win where I fight." GEN George S. Patton, Jr.

2. Remove Ads

Administrator
    I have no idea how Colorado works their stuff, but I would imagine that they are sworn LEO's if they complete POST certification. Otherwise, there is no need for the POST completion.
    "Just blame Sixto"

Senior Member Array tanksoldier's Avatar
    Yeah, that's what I figured but was curious to find out for sure.

My Google-fu is strong, but this question kicked my butt.

Couldn't even find a reference in the Colorado Revised Statutes or the Colorado POST Commission website.

On another forum somebody told me that Colorado USED to have different peace officers designations, Level 1 thru Level 3a, but now there is only one... either you ARE a peace officer or you aren't... so either they now designate everyone as a Level 1a, or it's an archaic job description pasted in.

According to this guy agency policy can determine your duties and scope of "off duty" authority, but the basics of being a LEO 24/7, carrying a gun, power of arrest, etc are the same for everyone.