A cop writes his support of SD CCW.

This is a discussion on A cop writes his support of SD CCW. within the Law Enforcement, Military & Homeland Security Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; A piece from an LEO with the support I like to see for CCW. ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ http://badgerherald.com/oped/2005/12...carry_prov.php Concealed carry provides protection. Friday, December 9, 2005 I ...

Assistant Administrator

A piece from an LEO with the support I like to see for CCW.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    http://badgerherald.com/oped/2005/12...carry_prov.php

Concealed carry provides protection.

Friday, December 9, 2005
    I grew up in Wisconsin. I am a University of Wisconsin alum, and many of my friends and family live in Madison. I am currently a police officer in South Dakota.

As a police officer, I may legally carry a concealed weapon when I visit my family in Madison. This is a right that should not only be afforded to police officers like myself, but all law-abiding citizens who choose to take on the extra responsibility to keep their families and their communities safe.

In my professional experience in South Dakota, a ?shall-issue? concealed-carry state where permits are issued to anyone who can pass a background check, I have never had ? nor heard of ? any problems with a person legally carrying a concealed pistol. However, I do know of several instances where a legally possessed firearm has saved innocent lives during the commission of a violent crime.

Concealed-carry permit holders act as first responders, as do many ordinary citizens who know CPR, first aid or how to use a fire extinguisher. Their actions are often the difference between life and death. The same holds true for concealed-carry permit holders.