Inside the minds of gang members

This is a discussion on Inside the minds of gang members within the Law Enforcement, Military & Homeland Security Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I found this article about banger thinking. Nothing really surprising to me but thought it is worth sharing Inside the minds of gang members Originally ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Inside the minds of gang members

I found this article about banger thinking. Nothing really surprising to me but thought it is worth sharing

Quote Originally Posted by Glenn D. Frankovis
    Street Gang Mentality
    from the September 2007 issue of the FBI Law Enforcement Bulletin

I am a 1988 graduate of the FBI National Academy’s 11 week management training program for law enforcement officers. The FBI has a Law Enforcement magazine that they send to graduates on a monthly basis. The September issue includes the above article written by Anthony J. Pinizotto, PhD (senior scientist and clinical forensic psychologist in the Behavioral Science Unit of the FBI Academy); Edward F. Davis, M.S. (instructor in the Behavioral Science Unit of the FBI Academy); and Charles E. Miller III (head of the Officer Safety Research and Training Program of the FBI’s Criminal Justice Information Services Division). These three authors have conducted “more than 20 years of research on violence against law enforcement officers” and “have interviewed hundreds of offenders either housed in various prisons throughout the U.S. or following release from these institutions after serving their sentences”.

This article includes quotes from some of the gang members interviewed. I am going to share those quotes with you word for word as written in the article.