How old is too old?

This is a discussion on How old is too old? within the Law Enforcement, Military & Homeland Security Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; A question for the leos - leos only please. I have a college degree in IT, but would like to give something more back to ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How old is too old?

VIP Member

How old is too old?

A question for the leos - leos only please.

I have a college degree in IT, but would like to give something more back to the community, help folks out, and get the satisfaction of a job worth doing back, similiar to when I was in a volunteer rescue squad some years back.

I've been thinking of switching careers into law enforcement for several years. Is mid - late 40's too old to make the transition?

2. Remove Ads

Distinguished Member Array Agave's Avatar
    It is generally going to be too old if you plan on retiring. My guess is that otherwise, it would depend on you.

Edit: my reread reveals to me that you don't want my opinion and I respect that. I'm sorry for not catching that first. Please remember that "leo" is on the lines of "capricorn" and "aries." "LEO" is something different and perhaps would have caught my attention.
    Last edited by Agave; December 14th, 2008 at 11:28 PM.
    The preceding post may contain sarcasm; it's just better that way. However, it is still intended with construction and with the Love of my L-rd Y'shua.

NRA Certified Pistol Instructor, Tennessee Certified Instructor

My Dad got his commission at age 52 (world's oldest rookie) after attending a community college academy that was accepted by his city. He just did it to see if he could. He chose to work as a reserve and made a fortune doing off-duty side work.
    Treat me good, I'll treat you better. Treat me bad, I'll treat you worse.