How to help neighbor kid prepare for Marines?

This is a discussion on How to help neighbor kid prepare for Marines? within the Law Enforcement, Military & Homeland Security Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; I own a duplex and rent the other side to tenant family. They have a nice kid, 16 years old. He keeps saying he wants ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: How to help neighbor kid prepare for Marines?

How to help neighbor kid prepare for Marines?

I own a duplex and rent the other side to tenant family. They have a nice kid, 16 years old. He keeps saying he wants to join Marines as soon as he finishes High School. He has consistently said this for over a year now, so I'm starting to believe him. This kid is already in fabulous physical shape, he wrestles and plays football and runs like a deer. I know he won't have any trouble getting through boot camp.

Anyway, I've been shooting (competitively and casually) for 40 years now and I'd like to help him get started in learning to shoot and handle firearms. I'm looking for advice here, as to how to introduce him to shooting. I don't want to get him into any "bad habits", that is - things the Marines might not like. For instance, I used to do a lot of IPSC shooting. Obviously, I'm not gonna start him off in fast-draw and double-taps. But would it EVER be appropriate for me to show him this style of handgun shooting?

Or should I simply take him to rifle range only and practice gun safety, setting sights and marksmanship and such?

All comments welcome. I'm looking to help this kid out.

thanks
    'Be careful, even in small matters' - Miyamoto Musashi

2. Remove Ads

JD
    Administrator
    Pistolcraft in the Military is only taught on a limited basis while it should be learned, his rifle will be his primary tool and that's what should be focused on.