Need LEO career advice

This is a discussion on Need LEO career advice within the Law Enforcement, Military & Homeland Security Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; Well I'm a college student and will be graduating sometime in the next year and halfish. My career goal is to become a police officer. ...

Thread: Need LEO career advice

Senior Member Array SilenceDoGood's Avatar

Need LEO career advice

Well I'm a college student and will be graduating sometime in the next year and halfish. My career goal is to become a police officer. I had an internship with the campus PD who has state accreditation (unsure if that's the correct nomenclature, but they aren't rent-a-cops they have jurisdiction in the whole town). Anyhow, I was laid off because of state wide budget cuts and the PD took a hard hit because apparently it's a pretty safe campus (talk about being a victim of your own success).

I was curious if any of you LEO's out there knew of a internship program or any program that would allow me as a college student to put my foot in the door and get my name out there, or had any advice in general.

I sincerely appreciate it,

SDG
    Last edited by SilenceDoGood; February 12th, 2009 at 10:48 PM. Reason: to satisfy the grammer police.
    "A government is like fire, a handy servant, but a dangerous master." -- George Washington

2. Remove Ads

Check local departments for a Reserve Officer/Deputy program. See if you can do any civilian ride-alongs....
    Sean
    XD 9SC | XD 45ACP Service | XD 45ACP Compact |Borealis
    "You may know where you are. God may know where you are. If you don't tell your dispatcher where you are, you'd better be on speaking terms with God!"

Ask about a radio/dispatcher position - excellent experience for someone in your situation . . .
    Tejano
    tay-hah'-no . . . if ya don't savvy Tex-Mex
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~