Law Enforcement Career Switch Question

This is a discussion on Law Enforcement Career Switch Question within the Law Enforcement, Military & Homeland Security Discussion forums, part of the Related Topics category; First let me explain the course of the last 5 years of my life that have lead up to my confusion today. It all started ...

View Poll Results: What should I do?

Voters
65. You may not vote on this poll
  • Leave CMU and join the academy if possible

4 6.15%
  • Finish another year at CMU and then join the academy

42 64.62%
  • Don't bother with L.E.

14 21.54%
  • Other

5 7.69%
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Law Enforcement Career Switch Question

Question Law Enforcement Career Switch Question

First let me explain the course of the last 5 years of my life that have lead up to my confusion today. It all started in 2005, the year I graduated from high school, I went in to talk to a Marine recruiter. I was ready and willing to join but my hypoglycemia and scoliosis stopped that plan dead in its tracks. Instead I enrolled at the local community college and took my basic class, math, english, and so forth. After a couple years I entered into my first year at Central Michigan University declaring a B.S. in Mechanical Engineering. After a couple tough math classes and some fun computer programming classes I switched to a B.S. in Computer Integrated Manufacturing. Again, after digging a little deeper into computer classes I realized the programming was not quite my thing. I then switched back to what I though would be better for me because it was a more "hands on" degree, Manufacturing Engineering Technology. I've tried to discuss the idea of a non-technical degree with my parents multiple times and they both feel very strongly that I wont amount to much of anything without a computer or engineering degree.