Roll call: pastors and church workers who carry

This is a discussion on Roll call: pastors and church workers who carry within the Member Meeting Place forums, part of the The Back Porch category; Just kind of interested in knowing/meeting those of you who work in/with the church and carry. Not meaning to exclude the rest of you who ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Roll call: pastors and church workers who carry

Just kind of interested in knowing/meeting those of you who work in/with the church and carry. Not meaning to exclude the rest of you who are, I am sure, fine people, but for right now just interested in hearing from the church workers.

If you'd like, maybe also state any problems/issues that have arisen as a result of you carrying? Such as certain people's perceptions or overcoming preconceived notions of what a pastor should and should not do (yes, like carrying)?

FWIW, I'm a pastor in Michigan. Just purchased my first handgun and plan on taking a CCW class in May when the local LEO's offer it. After that (and assuming I'm accepted!) I plan on carrying most of the time. Probably even on Sunday morning. I can think of at least one person who I assume would TOTALLY freak out if they knew . . . but I'm not planning on telling them!

Okay, so there you go! What's your story?

Cool It probably varies from state to state.

The Louisiana Concealed Carry Rule Book states that " N. No concealed handgun may be carried into and no concealed handgun permit issued
    pursuant to this Section shall authorize or entitle a permittee to carry a concealed handgun in
    any of the following:

(8) Any church, synagogue, mosque, or other similar place of worship.

I am not familiar with the rules and regulations of other states, it would be interesting to learn about them.

I am a soldier in the Salvation Army, and Vice-President of the Board of Trustees of a small church in Youngsville, La.