Defensive Carry banner

Happy to be here!

2K views 45 replies 44 participants last post by  bsnow 
#1 ·
Hi everyone, I am new to guns and self-defense in general.

I lived a life of blissful ignorance until May 14, 2010, when my wife and one year-old son were abducted at gunpoint, taken to an ATM, and robbed. I only learned of this after they were safe; the news hit me like the proverbial ton of bricks, and forever changed me.

I grew up in a house without guns, and without a lot of thought for self defense or home protection. We weren't anti-gun, we were just complacent, and I was too naive even to realize it. Looking back, I see that I carried this naivete over to my own family.

My family is alive, unharmed, safe, and together, and our attacker is behind bars. I see this as a second chance - a chance to learn to protect and defend my family, instead of hoping that the bad guys don't bother us again.

The only purchase I've made so far is a Taser C2 for my wife, which she requested specifically. I think she needed it to feel safe again. She wants to get her CCW permit, but for now is not interested in carrying a gun. After I've carried for a while and grown comfortable with it myself, I'll try to warm her up to the idea, too. She is aware of my plan and supports it for now :smile:

I've shot several guns in the past six weeks, which is the only shooting I've ever done. I've got my eye on a Kahr PM9, and as soon as I get my wallet on it too, I'll be carrying it everywhere I go.

I'm a self-professed newbie, here to learn as much as I can. No instruction or criticism will go unappreciated.

See less See more
#2 ·
SOOOO glad everything turned out ok!

...and welcome from a neighbor a bit to the south.

#3 ·
Glad your wife and son are fine. You'll find a wealth of knowledge here, to help you make informed decisions.

Welcome to the forum from Virginia.

#4 ·