Newbie Reporting

Newbie Reporting

This is a discussion on Newbie Reporting within the New Members Introduce Yourself forums, part of the DefensiveCarry.com Forum Office category; Hey everyone. Just wanted to pop in and introduce myself. I'm brand new to guns - never fired anything other than a BB gun. As ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Newbie Reporting

Hey everyone.

Just wanted to pop in and introduce myself. I'm brand new to guns - never fired anything other than a BB gun. As an American adult, I feel deprived.

Anyways, I've always been fascinated with firearms and have great respect for those who share knowledge and experience with such. Now that I'm moving to TX, the possibility that I can obtain a concealed carry permit is a real possibility. So, after perusing the web I found this forum.

There's some great resources on the DC forums and I thought it would be a great place to join and learn from.

If anyone could provide me with some directions on how I should start practicing with firearms and what material I should study, I would appreciate it. Thanks.

VIP Member
    Welcome from Virginia.

Since your new and wanting to learn, my suggestion would be find an NRA firearms trainer and take their beginner handgun course. They will teach the basics as well as teach you safety, safety and more safety.
    Freedom doesn't come free. It is bought and paid for by the lives and blood of our men and women in uniform.

USAF Retired
    NRA Life Member

VIP Member

Thumbs up

Welcome from SC. Definitely get a beginners course, and keep getting training from there. We should never stop learning.

Distinguished Member Array Stubborn's Avatar
    Hello and welcome from Florida.
    AMEN to what "archer" said...it's all about safety, first, last and everything in-between.
    After that safety course, go to a range that rents guns and have some fun.
    "The beauty of the Second Amendment is that it will not be needed until they try to take it".
    Thomas Jefferson