The effects of competitive shooting on muscle memory

This is a discussion on The effects of competitive shooting on muscle memory within the New Members Introduce Yourself forums, part of the DefensiveCarry.com Forum Office category; Hello everyone,I'm new to this discussion forum. I've spent some time reading the information shared here,and am impressed with the depth of knowledge those of ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: The effects of competitive shooting on muscle memory

Hello everyone,I'm new to this discussion forum. I've spent some time reading the information shared here,and am impressed with the depth of knowledge those of like mind share.My question is on the type of training to best prepare for an actual deadly force confrontation. Can the mixing of competitive shooting,i.e. IDPA,with your combat training, percentages of both being equal,or more on the competitive side,have negative effects on your muscle memory,and your reaction to a violent encounter?. We are all familiar with " you fight like you train". Your thoughts on this will be appreciated.Thanks,RayBar.

VIP Member
    Welcome.

Training and competing are certainly two different things. In competition, for the sake of range safety and other considerations, certain rules are enforced that maybe contrary to good self defense, aka actually fighting with a firearm. Competition is good for injecting stress and adrenalin into your system. Aside from actual combat there are few betters ways to experience those.

Force on force training is probably the best thing for us, but that can be hard to find and finance on a regular basis. Certainly once you have a couple of those classes behind you, you could do some of the same on your own with a competently trained partner.

Those are just some thoughts. I am sure the trainers and gurus will chime in soon and tell you I'm full of it. :)
    "Mind own business"
    "Always cut cards"

VIP Member
    Welcome from another match shooter>

VIP Member