Hello From Oklahoma City!

This is a discussion on Hello From Oklahoma City! within the New Members Introduce Yourself forums, part of the DefensiveCarry.com Forum Office category; My name is Brent and I have been in shooting sports since 2002. I did not grow up in a house with firearms but I ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Hello From Oklahoma City!

My name is Brent and I have been in shooting sports since 2002. I did not grow up in a house with firearms but I became interested in firearms after the terrorist attacks on Sep 11th. Like most American's, 9-11 was very difficult for me but it was not the first time I had been exposed to terrorism. Being from Oklahoma, I still remember the OKC Bombing like it was yesterday and it was so hard to comprehend at the age of 12.

My first pistol I fired was a J Frame S&W .38 Special and it was a rental gun at Bullet Hole Gun Range in Omaha NE. A few weeks later I started shooting a Glock 23. The J Frame remains my favorite carry gun today. Even though I am 29 I am kind of old school in thought. I do own numerous semi autos but I prefer revolvers because of their simplicity and dependability. When I started out with CCW I carried a full size Glock 22 and then like most, that full size firearm does stat to get cumbersome. In OKC the summer temps can easily clime into the triple digits. So most of the time I am carrying either a S&W 642, 640 or my M&P Compact 9MM.