New member, looking for tips on gun maintenance.

This is a discussion on New member, looking for tips on gun maintenance. within the New Members Introduce Yourself forums, part of the DefensiveCarry.com Forum Office category; Hi all, I'm new to this site and not completely new to firearms but I'll be the first to admit there's a lot I don't ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree5Likes

Thread: New member, looking for tips on gun maintenance.

Hi all, I'm new to this site and not completely new to firearms but I'll be the first to admit there's a lot I don't know and am looking to expand my knowledge. I started shooting when I was about 12 or 13 thanks to the Boy Scouts, .22s and 12 Gauges. However guns are not at all a hobby for most of my family so I've had to learn what I could by myself over the years without any real help. I've purchased a few firearms when the opportunity arises including a .30-30 lever action, a 20 Ga break action and a 1911 which I've sold. I've probably put between 1000-2000 rounds down range in my life. I recently picked up a Star PD45 as I've renewed interest in obtaining my CHL. I have plenty of knowledge of different weapons, calibers etc.. but if there's one thing that no ones ever taught me it's how to do maintenance on my firearms. I'm sure cleaning and oiling my guns is a lot like changing the oil, not really hard at all you just don't want to make a mistake if you've never really done it bfore. I purchased several Hoppes #9 products such as cleaning patches, a bronze brush, and cotton swab that can be screwed onto a rod to clean the bore, as well a bottle of Rem oil. I'm mostly just worried about using the wrong products or making a mistake that causes my weapon to rust or corrode or something like that. I'm very capable of disassembling and reassembling my weapon. Just looking for some tips to take care of it. Thank you all in advance.

2. Remove Ads

First off, welcome!