First Time Gun Owner from CALI (commie state)

This is a discussion on First Time Gun Owner from CALI (commie state) within the New Members Introduce Yourself forums, part of the DefensiveCarry.com Forum Office category; Hello Everyone. First time gun owner (Glock 17), gun newbie here. I've joined a Glock forum just last week but decided to join here as ...

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Like Tree21Likes

Thread: First Time Gun Owner from CALI (commie state)

First Time Gun Owner from CALI (commie state)

Hello Everyone. First time gun owner (Glock 17), gun newbie here. I've joined a Glock forum just last week but decided to join here as well because quite frankly, whenever I google stuff about guns, I frequently end up here. Sure CCW doesn't really apply to me since I'm just a regular Joe in Cali, but this place seems to be a thriving community of friendly folks so here I am.

Anyways, me even having a gun is a miracle. It took me 8 months of convincing to my wife to let me own a gun. Even before we got married (couple of years ago) she was very firm with her view in gun ownership, and that owning a gun = deal breaker. And then with a new boy now about 6 months old, it was a double deal breaker lol. But, I put up a compelling case and wrote her this 2 page letter/email describing why I wanted a gun (new hobby), why it was important to have one (protection and problem deterrent), and how I would take the responsibility of gun ownership very seriously (training, safe storage, house rules). I linked Yelp reviews on gun safety/defense training courses I was going to take, Amazon reviews on safes I was going to buy, and preached my house rules over and over. Anyways, it was my best essay yet. This was about 10 months ago and she told me to give her some time to think about it, and about 2 months ago, she finally said YES! It was like my wedding day proposal all over again lol.