Greets and where should I start?

This is a discussion on Greets and where should I start? within the New Members Introduce Yourself forums, part of the DefensiveCarry.com Forum Office category; Hello to everyone. Thanks to the administrators for a great forum and to the sponsors for making it work. I'm a veteran of internet forums ...

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Greets and where should I start?

Greets and where should I start?

Hello to everyone. Thanks to the administrators for a great forum and to the sponsors for making it work.

I'm a veteran of internet forums but an absolute beginner with firearms. I know I should use the "search" function but I'm not even sure what to search for. I don't even know what I don't know. Any kind advice is appreciated.

In a nutshell, I'm seriously considering my first handgun, but my hobbies are motorcycles and electric guitars. I really don't know a thing about handguns, as you'll soon read:

I have been to the range a few times. Mostly I have rented weapons but I have also fired a friend's snub nose .357. The gun that impressed me the most was a Glock 9mm, but that's compared to all the other rented equipment. Am I likely to have a crazy opinion of these guns because they're rentals?

I can't list what I've used other than the .357 and the Glock. I've fired some other .45 and some other .38. I liked the Glock because it was the least challenging to aim, squeeze, and hit what I thought I was aiming at. Compared to myself with the other guns, I was far more accurate. Is that a common reaction to the Glock? Maybe the other guns needed maintenance/adjustment/sighting? (Of course, I'm a complete beginner and totally suck at marksmanship, but it wasn't like I did something different with the Glock - yet I had a tighter, on target grouping.)

Where can I get a ballpark estimate for street prices? I don't want to be a complete rube when I go shopping. (It costs $3k? Huh, alright... hehe)