New California Member

This is a discussion on New California Member within the New Members Introduce Yourself forums, part of the DefensiveCarry.com Forum Office category; Stumbled in here through a Google search...nice forums! I am a Realtor in Central California (Red State CA) and am getting my first CCW. Am ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New California Member

New California Member

Stumbled in here through a Google search...nice forums!

I am a Realtor in Central California (Red State CA) and am getting my first CCW. Am getting a CA CCW and a non-resident Utah CFP.

Am age 49, five kids (only two still at home, thank God), lovely wife (who is also getting the same two permits) and love to travel. (Harley, motorhome, sailboat)

Had a bad incident here last month. A fellow Realtor (male) was attacked by two bad guys with crowbars at an open house on a Sunday afternoon. Was left for dead. They got $23. Really woke me up. I have occasionally carried without permit over the years, but this made me realize I needed to jump through the hoops and do it right.

I used to shoot a lot in my youth, but slowly lost interest as kids started coming and time became scarce. Dug out all my old pistols and looked them over. All still in great shape. They had been oiled and packed properly in my attic. They are all over 26 years old. Have a Colt Lawman .357 in nickel, S&W 64-2 stainless, Colt Commander in satin nickel, Ruger SecuritySix in stainless, Ruger SingleSix stainless, AMT .380 Back-up in stainless...and some other asst cheaper guns. Decided to look around for something more "current" and better suited to CCW.

Bought a Kahr PM9 which will be my primary. Have about 350 rounds through it with no FTF or problems of any kind. So far I am impressed. We have joined the local range and am once again enjoying shooting regularly.

Anyway, sorry to be so long winded...I am looking forward to learning a great deal here.

2. Remove Ads

welcome nice collection of pistols