Florida Gun Laws

This is a discussion on Florida Gun Laws within the New Members Introduce Yourself forums, part of the DefensiveCarry.com Forum Office category; I am new to hand guns, having purchased my first 9mm two weeks ago. Because I am new, I have been doing a tremendous amount ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Florida Gun Laws

Florida Gun Laws

I am new to hand guns, having purchased my first 9mm two weeks ago. Because I am new, I have been doing a tremendous amount of reading and research on gun laws.

I am appalled at what I hear about the gun laws in some states. I think I am fortunate to life in Florida, Tampa Bay area. Here are some quotes from the 2009 Florida Statues, Chapter 790, Weapons and Firearms:

790.172(2) It is the intent of the Legislature that adult citizens of the state retain their constitutional right to keep and bear firearms for hunting and sporting activities and for defense of self, family, home, and business and as collectibles. Nothing in this act shall be construed to reduce or limit any existing right to purchase and own firearms, or to provide authority to any state or local agency to infringe upon the privacy of any family, home, or business, except by lawful warrant.

. . . . . .

790.25(5) POSSESSION IN PRIVATE CONVEYANCE. --Notwithstanding subsection (2), it is lawful and is not a violation of s. 790.01 for a person 18 years of age or older to possess a concealed firearm or other weapon for self-defense or other lawful purpose within the interior of a private conveyance, without a license, if the firearm or other weapon is securely encased or is otherwise not readily accessible for immediate use.

. . . . . .

790.335 Prohibition of registration of firearms; electronic records.--
    (1) LEGISLATIVE FINDINGS AND INTENT.--
    (a) The Legislature finds and declares that: