Back in the early 1980s I was a housewife and student in Corvallis, Oregon. My husband worked swing shift and I was generally alone at home. On the night this happened it was raining; because the house was tightly sealed, I had cracked the bedroom window in order to reduce the condensation and chance of mold growing.

I was lying on our bed, reading for a Biochem course when I heard the window screen fall. I looked up in time to see a man with a ski mask, no other visible clothing, and a knife getting up on the window ledge. I started to back along the bed, along the wall to the bedroom door. The telephone was on the desk immediately beneath the window, and where he was starting to step down. I realized that when I reached the end of the bed that in order to open the door and leave the room I would step within his reach.

The man was talking to me, saying stuff that the general gist of was that if I did what he said he might let me live. I couldn\'t really hear him, I felt like I was underwater, my vision seemed really narrow and sounds seemed far away. He watched me and he seemed very happy; it was too weird. I can\'t even describe how happy he sounded while he was saying this stuff. It was terrifying. He seemed to be watching, waiting.