BAD: Man Shoots Himself on Campus by Accident (Down the road from me)

This is a discussion on BAD: Man Shoots Himself on Campus by Accident (Down the road from me) within the In the News: The Good, the Bad and the Ugly forums, part of the The Back Porch category; Okay, I am a full-time nursing student in the midst of my hell semester (2nd semester...med-surg sucks...) Anyway, at the start of class today my ...

Thread: BAD: Man Shoots Himself on Campus by Accident (Down the road from me)

Okay, I am a full-time nursing student in the midst of my hell semester (2nd semester...med-surg sucks...) Anyway, at the start of class today my instructor tells us about a shooting the Gaffney, SC Spartanburg Community College satellite campus. She said it was an accident, and it wasn't intentional. She said he had a permit to carry a gun, and accidentally shot himself in the hand. She said however despite state law, guns were not allowed on campus, not allowed in your glove compartment, even if you have a CWP. THIS however is not true. Just this year, a new law was passed allowing CWP holders to have their gun in their glove compartment or middle console while on campus. They must have it off their person before they are on school property. Granted, the man should be charged, but not for possession of a firearm, it should be for discharge of the firearm. I thought about correcting her after class, but she was adamant that since the school has "No Concealed Weapons Signs" they didn't have to listen to state law I would just be barking up the wrong tree and drawing unwanted attention to myself. (The school receives state funding, and is NOT a private institution.)

So, without further ado...here's the story about the total idiot.

Charge expected in gun accident at community college | News | GoUpstate.com

Charge expected in gun accident at community college

By Janet S. Spencer
    janet.spencer@shj.com

Published: Thursday, March 4, 2010 at 3:15 a.m.