My local gun club

My local gun club

This is a discussion on My local gun club within the Off Topic & Humor Discussion forums, part of the The Back Porch category; I have been shooting recreationally for about ten years now, mostly trap, skeet, and five stand. When i look around at my local gun club, ...

My local gun club

I have been shooting recreationally for about ten years now, mostly trap, skeet, and five stand. When i look around at my local gun club, the Binghamton Gun Club, the average age must be around 70 or so. i am a young guy of 36, and wonder where our club will be in ten or twenty years?

We keep losing members about one or two a year lately. Never seems to be enough time to have "memorial" shoots for members who have passed. I hear every thursday night of the "good old days"... i have learned so much from my old friends, many of whom were in the armed services at one time or another.

I do see some youth interested in hunting, but i do not see a ton of middle aged people shooting weekly. Maybe its cause they have kids, and other responsibilities, without much money for shotgun shells, guns, etc. Our club is pretty active in 4H shoots, where we try to encourage youth to participate in skeet and trap... we also have the boy scouts, and get money from the NRA to help sponser youth shooting. I am just not sure how the club will last in the upcoming years.

Sorry to vent... thought i would speak my mind. Bunker

try to recruit new members...