Identify WW2 Photo?

Identify WW2 Photo?

This is a discussion on Identify WW2 Photo? within the Off Topic & Humor Discussion forums, part of the The Back Porch category; My dad took many photos in WW2.Anyone know what this might be?Looks like a Japanese flag.Are they surrendering or just standing in formation? I was ...

Thread: Identify WW2 Photo?

Distinguished Member Array mr.stuart's Avatar

Identify WW2 Photo?

My dad took many photos in WW2.Anyone know what this might be?Looks like a Japanese flag.Are they surrendering or just standing in formation? I was digging through a pile of old pics and this 8x10 caught my eye.
    Pain is the best teacher,but nobody wants to go to his class.

When the past smothers the present, there is only desperation. When the future absorbs the present, life stands still. In either case a decision must be made because you only live now and you are only what you are now.

I am no expert, but I don't see any sign that they are surrendering. Looks to me like they're in formation, saluting the flag. Perhaps some kind of formal ceremony?

If your Dad took this picture, it looks like he was on top of a turret with his camera...all the uniformed and civilian dressed appear to be Japaneses ...umm...which side was yer Dad on?

Quote Originally Posted by kaboomkaboom View Post
    If your Dad took this picture, it looks like he was on top of a turret with his camera...all the uniformed and civilian dressed appear to be Japaneses ...umm...which side was yer Dad on?
    It was in a trunk with a few hundred photos and his 2 cameras.We retrieved the trunk about 15 years ago from a relatives home in Houston.I really have no idea how he got this photo.He did not buy photos from the Japanese,so I am not sure.

When the past smothers the present, there is only desperation. When the future absorbs the present, life stands still. In either case a decision must be made because you only live now and you are only what you are now.