Trigger finger fail...

This is a discussion on Trigger finger fail... within the Off Topic & Humor Discussion forums, part of the The Back Porch category; Bad news for the trigger finger. Late Friday night, the Marshal called me and asked me if I could fill in a shift that one ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: Trigger finger fail...

Senior Moderator

Trigger finger fail...

Bad news for the trigger finger. Late Friday night, the Marshal called me and asked me if I could fill in a shift that one of our Deputys was supposed to cover.

As I have done many times in my life during the high school days when I worked as a farm hand, that Deputy was picking up bales of hay, the square bales. Like I have done many times before, he had put the truck in low gear and walked beside it placing the hay bales in the back until it go tall enough that you couldnt reach the top of the stack. In a long field, this was a common thing to do back in the day. The low gear was slow enough that walking beside the truck was no issue. When you got to the end of the row, you just jumped in the truck, wheeled it around and started the next row. No big deal right?

Normally it is not. Except this time, as he wheeled the truck around he left the door open and with his left leg hanging out, he wheeled it around like he had done a hundred times before and in the middle of the turn he hit a hay bale that promptly and with force...slammed the door right on his leg. You know that had to hurt. Anyhow, he went to the ER and it was determined that he had bruised the bone, lost about 15% of blood inside his leg, which made it easily twice the size that it normally was. Naturally, he spent the rest of the day and night at the hospital.