National EAS Test. Please tell me how it went in your area

This is a discussion on National EAS Test. Please tell me how it went in your area within the Off Topic & Humor Discussion forums, part of the The Back Porch category; I am a Broadcast Engineer, I work in TV. Today was the National EAS (Emergency Alert System) Test. To say that this was a government ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree18Likes

Thread: National EAS test. Please tell me how it went in your area

National EAS test. Please tell me how it went in your area

I am a Broadcast Engineer, I work in TV. Today was the National EAS (Emergency Alert System) test. To say that this was a government run train wreck is so mild as to be comical. All of our equipment was checked, rechecked and checked again. We have been testing and getting ready for this test in central Indiana for over two months. When the time came, what we got from the US government was about 30 seconds of static instead of the audio message we were supposed to hear.

I have been reading reports from different locations around the country. Some areas had garbled audio, some had 30 seconds of dead air. Some had tones for the entire thing. This was completely FUBAR and you can blame the good old government for this. Specifically, the FCC.

So please, if you watched the test on TV or heard it on radio I'd really like to hear how it went in your area.
    ,=====o00o _
    //___l__,\____\,__
    l_--- \___l---[]lllllll[]
    (o)_)-o- (o)_)--o-)_)

2. Remove Ads

It was staticy at first but then the audio gradually got clearer and easier to understand...all in all if something bad was going down on the national level it seems like it would work pretty well
    Psalm 23
    In God I trust, it's the rest of you I'm concerned about

Certified Smith & Wesson M&P pistol and MP15 rifle armorer

Non event in NW Oregon. No signal broadcast.....

Quote Originally Posted by natimage View Post