Flip Video???

This is a discussion on Flip Video??? within the Off Topic & Humor Discussion forums, part of the The Back Porch category; Any of you young bucks know the scoop on these things? My wife wants a Flip type video camera and I'm not an expert. I've ...

Thread: Flip Video???

VIP Member

Flip Video???

Any of you young bucks know the scoop on these things? My wife wants a Flip type video camera and I'm not an expert. I've looked on line at the Flip models and I've gone to Best Buy and looked at Kodak's version of the pocket camera. Anyone know what to buy? I'd like to stay at or around $100.
    Mark Twain:
    The government is merely a servant -- merely a temporary servant; it cannot be its prerogative to determine what is right and what is wrong, and decide who is a
    patriot and who isn't. Its function is to obey orders, not originate them.

2. Remove Ads

Administrator
    I bought my kid one, I think its a Sony. ( I dont remember, its in his room, and he is already sleeping) I think I paid like 75 bucks for it last year. It works well and is ultra simple to use. From what I learned, all the major brands are pretty much the same. They keep everything to a minimum in order to keep them as simple, inexpensive and easy as possible. I think as long as you stick with a name brand, you really can't go wrong. The only thing I would consider is what program you are going to use to download the video's. If you already have brand X camera, it would be a shame to have to use another program for the new flip.
    "Just blame Sixto"

Flip is made by Cisco, and they've discontinued it as of this year. It's a decent cheap video camera, and my kids loved it, but doesn't get a lot of use these days.

What I use is my smart phone, which is also why I think Cisco discontinued. The Flip Video is a decent video camera for what it is. It's a little shaky, i.e., and doesn't take good stills. Make sure you get the HD version.