My Security Guard Rant

This is a discussion on My Security Guard Rant within the Off Topic & Humor Discussion forums, part of the The Back Porch category; I have read several people disparage "security guards". There is some stereotyping going on here, and while stereotypes are sometimes accurate, they are often incorrect. ...

Thread: My Security Guard Rant

VIP Member Array paramedic70002's Avatar

My Security Guard Rant

I have read several people disparage "security guards". There is some stereotyping going on here, and while stereotypes are sometimes accurate, they are often incorrect.

I worked as a Security Officer for several years in the Hampton Roads (South East) area of Virginia, so I have a certain insight into this topic. Now I'm not going to talk about Blackwater types, just your run of the mill dude who is working at a construction site, retail establishment, commercial venture, etc.

On any given night, there are many more SOs working in America than there are LEOs, yet they account for less shootings than LEOs. Not exactly trigger happy.

SOs get NO RESPECT from anyone. Not BGs, not GGs, not LEOs. Many people will cooperate with SOs, but not many have respect in their hearts.

SOs make diddly squat money compared to LEOs, yet they perform a very similar job function.

Some LEOs moonlight as SOs. They usually make 3 or 4 TIMES the money as a SO, on a part time job, as the SO is making on his full time job. LEOs working as SOs use their LEO uniform, gun, car, training, arrest powers, and, most importantly, radio with unlimited backup. SOs have to PAY for all these in most cases, and calling for backup requires using a telephone and being treated like any other caller.

To add insult to injury, the SO's payroll taxes subsidize the LEO's perks. The LEO in many cases takes his money under the table, thus avoiding taxes.