Need some electrical help!

This is a discussion on Need some electrical help! within the Off Topic & Humor Discussion forums, part of the The Back Porch category; This is a bit off-topic, but I bet there is somebody here who can help me as we have a lot of bright people on ...

Like Tree8Likes
  • 6 Post By Hopyard
  • 1 Post By claude clay
  • 1 Post By Hopyard

Thread: Need some electrical help!

Need some electrical help!

This is a bit off-topic, but I bet there is somebody here who can help me as we have a lot of bright people on here..

I am having 4 rooms added to my home and I paid a contractor to do the foundation, framing, siding, roofing, etc.. Just to get it "into the dry." I was going to do everything else myself. Well, they finished that 2 days ago and so yesterday I began working on the electrical. I have some experience, I have installed extra outlets and lights and ran new drops to breaker boxes before. However, I've run into some unexpected problems and I can't find the answers through a google search.

First of all, I needed to cut a few wires going to other parts of the home in order to get this built. So yesterday I went to run completely new drops from the breaker box to those areas. When I went to remove the old cable, I was able to remove the hot wires from the breakers, but not the ground and neutrals. Those are attached to little ground blocks. The screws on those suckers just wouldn't move. In fact, I broke the top of one of them off attempting to loosen it. I considered heating it up with a small torch to see if that would help loosen, but was kind of afraid to try that. FYI - this house is only 15 years old.