Working the Super Bowl in Broadcasting

This is a discussion on Working the Super Bowl in Broadcasting within the Off Topic & Humor Discussion forums, part of the The Back Porch category; Many of you know that I work in the Broadcast TV field (at least for now anyway). I've done this work for 17 years now. ...

Like Tree6Likes
  • 1 Post By TN_Mike
  • 1 Post By TN_Mike
  • 1 Post By TN_Mike
  • 1 Post By Rock and Glock
  • 1 Post By TN_Mike
  • 1 Post By SIXTO

Thread: Working the Super Bowl in Broadcasting

Working the Super Bowl in Broadcasting

Many of you know that I work in the Broadcast TV field (at least for now anyway). I've done this work for 17 years now. I am a Broadcast Engineer, which is basically a fancy way of saying I am an electronics technician and work at a TV station. The station i work for is in Indianapolis Indiana, and last Sunday was the Super Bowl.

You may not have noticed it but I wasn't on the site for over a week except for a couple of brief pop ins to look at the site. I was just too darn busy. For the 2 weeks leading up to the game we had to build and wire 3 locations to broadcast and feed content back to the stations. This included the main location in the IPL building on the Circle right down town, a site at Georgia and Capitol streets and another at the Domestic Media Compound near Lucas Oil Stadium. To say it was a busy 2 weeks wouldn't do it justice. To give you an idea, my paycheck this Friday will have almost 75 hours of over time on it. And yes, I do plan on buying something with part of that money. I feel I deserve a treat.

Here are a few pictures for anyone interested in what it looks like behind the scenes to get a special broadcast like this on the air and into your home. It may or may not be what you expect.

IMG00476-20120125-1039.jpg
    Construction of the Roman Numerals on the Circle

IMG00482-20120126-1041.jpg
    Finished Roman Numerals

IMG00490-20120130-1451.jpg