At what point is it too much?

This is a discussion on At what point is it too much? within the Off Topic & Humor Discussion forums, part of the The Back Porch category; I am a social worker with a nonprofit organization dedicated to helping people empower themselves through work. To put it simply: I help people with ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree5Likes

Thread: At what point is it too much?

At what point is it too much?

I am a social worker with a nonprofit organization dedicated to helping people empower themselves through work. To put it simply: I help people with severe barriers (disabilities, criminal background, mental health issues, etc.) find jobs. I could have taken more lucrative paths in school, but I chose this one to help people. I love my job, but I am leaving in the fall to follow my law school dream.

Today I was informed that we were going to start offering services in the most violent housing project in the city. I have happily conducted workshops at other public housing areas, and even prisons. Something about working in the worst area in the city really bothers me. I honestly don't feel safe in that area.

Another issue that I have is that I cannot carry a firearm because it is against company policy, and I don't have a CC permit because I am waiting to see what state I will be in by fall.

Usually clients see me in our office, but occasionally we venture out to spread the word to other organizations as it were.

What would your response be in my situation? I don't want to piss off my employer, and at this point I only have a few months left to build up my savings.

Mods: I wasn't sure where this should go.

2. Remove Ads

If it's not illegal, do you want to be dead or unemployed...I guess either way, you'd be unemployed...not a tough decision for me (if I were in your situation).
    mr.stuart likes this.
    The last Blood Moon Tetrad for this millennium starts in April 2014 and ends in September 2015...according to NASA.