Bow Hunting

This is a discussion on Bow Hunting within the Off Topic & Humor Discussion forums, part of the The Back Porch category; I live in south Florida and am interested in getting into bow hunting (boar, bear, alligator/crocodile, etc.) & bow fishing. The only problem is I ...

Like Tree2Likes
  • 2 Post By chiefjason

Thread: Bow Hunting

Bow Hunting

I live in south Florida and am interested in getting into bow hunting (boar, bear, alligator/crocodile, etc.) & bow fishing. The only problem is I have no experience bow hunting (or hunting in general) & have no idea where to get started.

Any pointers on a good forum or place an amateur can go to get started would be greatly appreciated.

2. Remove Ads

Archerytalk.com

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    ~Mike
    Glock 17, Dale Fricke Archangel, Wilderness Tactical belt.
    My Guns and Tattoos Blog

Check out your F&G dept, in MO free classes are offered. A good bow shop can get you set up correctly. A few things that get ignored:
    1) broadheads shoot differently than field points (even of the same weight). Practice with field points, but sight your bow in with the broadheads you intend to hunt with. Number your arrows (sharpie on a vane works well) to determine if one is consistently out of the group.
    2) visualize the path of the arrow with respect to the vital organs - if the deer is quartering away, you'll have to shoot farther back than a broadside shot.
    3) your point of impact will vary when shooting from a elevated stand so try to sight in your bow from a similar height. If you can't, the distance for your sight pin that matters is the level distance from the bottom of your tree to the animal, not the incline distance from your stand to the animal.

Sponsor
    Find a local bow hunting shop. The locals are always going to do more for you than the big box stores.