Traffic Stop: "License and Registration Please."

This is a discussion on Traffic Stop: "License and Registration Please." within the Off Topic & Humor Discussion forums, part of the The Back Porch category; Here's something I find curious that I'd love to have clarified: I've seen posts either here or on other forums where allegedly the driver is ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Traffic Stop: "License and Registration Please."

Traffic Stop: "License and Registration Please."

Here's something I find curious that I'd love to have clarified: I've seen posts either here or on other forums where allegedly the driver is asked by the LEO to produce a driver's license and registration. You also see it a lot in movies and TV shows (as if that's a reflection of reality.) I've been driving for 36 years and have been stopped by the police in IL, WI, MN, ND and KS and never once had to show my "registration". I don't even know what that is. Is it like a title? Nobody carries their title around, it's as valuable as the car. Driver's license, of course. Proof of insurance, yes. Registration, never. So, my question is: Where does this come from? Are there some states that require you to carry a copy of your registration (whatever that is)? Is this a holdover from some bygone era? Or is it simply a common misconception?

2. Remove Ads

Administrator
    Is this a holdover from some bygone era?
    There it is mainly. Anymore, I run the plate on your car and I see the electronic version of the registration. As long as everything matches up, the paper one is useless to me. I never ask for the registration, unless there is some BMV error or some other problem and I'm looking for more information. Some, if not most, states require the registration to be kept with the car. A lot of states its a sticker that must be displayed. You get that when you purchase your plates.
    "Just blame Sixto"

Senior Member Array Inspector71's Avatar