I'm thinking of picking up hunting

This is a discussion on I'm thinking of picking up hunting within the Off Topic & Humor Discussion forums, part of the The Back Porch category; Of course I have no experience in the matter so I figure I would start off with varmint hunting. Squirrel season is upon me and ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: I'm thinking of picking up hunting

I'm thinking of picking up hunting

Of course I have no experience in the matter so I figure I would start off with varmint hunting. Squirrel season is upon me and I think it would be good starting ground (though I don't think I could get the gf to eat squirrel lol. I think I would though). Anyway coyote issues have been popping up a lot in the news this past year, most recently today (not the coyote fault this time though). It is almost like having seen so much about coyotes this past year is a sign or something.

anyway what do you all who hunt coyote do with them? I don't know if I could bring myself to eat one and clearly I wouldn't just go about shooting them and leaving them there (though something would eat the coyote regardless).

So do you all eat them when you hunt them? what do you do?

2. Remove Ads

Ive only dispatched 2, but they were in my yard and I suspect they were after my puppy. Used 7.62x54R on them. It made a neat 30cal hole on both sides, small mound of dirt where the bullet enters the ground. It was pretty quick, one ran a few yards kind of stiffened up and collapsed didnt see what the other did. I finished them off with my mossy 702 plinkster and threw them in the fire pit. I havent seen one in a while, though sometimes i hear them yipping when they catch a rabbit or squirrel in the adjacent corn fields. I have no more squirrels, my new target is moles when they start poking up through the dirt. I dont eat them, though my cat loved the squirrels and the occasional rabbit.

Quote Originally Posted by tricolordad View Post