Video Games and Movies...

This is a discussion on Video Games and Movies... within the Off Topic & Humor Discussion forums, part of the The Back Porch category; So I read a lot on this forum. Way more than I post, but ive been keeping up with everything and the video game / ...

Like Tree5Likes
  • 2 Post By Shiphted
  • 1 Post By Betty
  • 1 Post By Jeanlouise
  • 1 Post By chiefjason

Thread: Video Games and Movies...

So I read a lot on this forum. Way more than I post, but ive been keeping up with everything and the video game / movie arguement so many make is just getting to me. So here is my rant.

I am 27 years old and I have been playing violent video games for close to 20 years. I played Counter-Strike which is a first person shooter for 9 years, 4 of which i played professionally in competitions for money. I grew up in Gary, IN and Chicago area. Ive seen drugs, alcohol, gangs, killings and many other bad things that people shouldnt ever have to deal with. I grew up with my mother never around and my father being a alcoholic. I basicly raised myself. At 21 i joined the US Army and served 5 1/2 years to which I was medically discharged after being injured while overseas. During my time in the military i received 2 Good Conduct medals which are given every 3 years without getting into trouble. I also have a Army Commendation Medal with "V" Device (Valor) for my actions after receiving a direct mortar hit and continuing my job while being injured and returning fire on the enemy.

Now ive been CC'ing since i was 18 years old legally. I have never once thought of commiting any crime of violence or anything else for that matter. I have been very successful in my life and i know plenty of others my age that have done the same. I still play the FPS games on a regular basis and watch "violent" movies.