Lasik/ Vision Correction Surgery

This is a discussion on Lasik/ Vision Correction Surgery within the Off Topic & Humor Discussion forums, part of the The Back Porch category; Anyone had any experience with corrective surgery for poor vision. I am seriously considering this procedure, and would like to know all that I can. ...

Thread: Lasik/ Vision Correction Surgery

Lasik/ Vision Correction Surgery

Anyone had any experience with corrective surgery for poor vision. I am seriously considering this procedure, and would like to know all that I can. I've been wearing glasses since I was about five years old (am now 23), and cannot remember waking up and being able to see, ever. So i think this is something I want to do. Any experiences you guys have, especially the negatives ones, would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks all!!!
    Gun control is hitting what you aim at...

2. Remove Ads

I've had the radial keratotomy (1984) and the lasik (2001). It's money well spent. Just make sure you find the best surgeon in your area and don't make the surgeon decision based on cost alone. I now have to wear reading glasses, but it's due to age and my astigmatism has grown a little worse.
    Charlie - 40FIVER

Why I carry:
    "The heart is deceitul above all things, and desperately wicked: who can know it?
    Jeremiah 17:9

My brother had it a few years ago. He was blind as a bat one day, then better than 20/20 within hours after the surgery. No problems since.
    "No man's life, liberty, or property is safe while the Congress is in session."
    Mark Twain
    S&W M&P 40

My son had it at age 28. Poor guy has had lousy vision lifelong. He is happy with the results but reports losing a little night vision. He was told he might need glasses or further procedures later in life. I made sure he did his research and chose the most experienced doctor with the best track record, NOT the cheapest!