CCW Qualification

CCW Qualification

This is a discussion on CCW Qualification within the Off Topic & Humor Discussion forums, part of the The Back Porch category; This is a short anecdote but one I love to tell. Back a few years ago when I was taking my class for CCW I ...

Thread: CCW Qualification

CCW Qualification

This is a short anecdote but one I love to tell.

Back a few years ago when I was taking my class for CCW I realized that I was the only person there under 43 years of age. Actually I was 21, which is half, lol. But I was unfazed because I have been shooting since I was 5 years old, hunting since I was 7 and shooting competitively since I was 9. So more or less 12 years of shooting handguns and right at three years of shooting USPSA and CCW matches at the local gunrange with my Glock 17 I felt very confident that I would have no problem qualifying.
    The class was a breeze, came second hand since I been through every saftey course you could think of, taught the NJROTC rifle team and won many matches myself along with a few years of legal research in college.
    Then when we got to the gunrange to commense the qualification shootings I was told to go second, behind an elderly woman who was 70 something years old but said she felt like she was 50. I tried to hold the snickering back but...
    when she sat her handgun case on the counter and flipped the lid open to reveal to everyone a brandnew Desert Eagle XIX 50 AE!!!

Everyone looked each other, a few guys snickered and I asked her "Are you going to conceal this!?" She smiled, said yes and explained to us that the gundealer said that it was the best thing for selfdefense and to conceal!!
    I caught concerned eyes with the instructor but he showed her to the shooting stall where she slapped in a mag, charged one and carefully aimed the Desert Eagle XIX downrange.