My Day Job

This is a discussion on My Day Job within the Off Topic & Humor Discussion forums, part of the The Back Porch category; What's a layperson's description of your day job? Like, what do you do? I have two backgrounds: chemistry and oceanography/climate. I run a stable isotope ...

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Like Tree40Likes

Thread: My Day Job

My Day Job

What's a layperson's description of your day job? Like, what do you do?
    I have two backgrounds: chemistry and oceanography/climate.

I run a stable isotope lab. We use the stable isotope ratios of natural materials to build paleoclimate records. My job is to go in and investigate 1) how and 2) why different types of climate variability has occurred in the past and 3) evaluate its implications for the present and future.

My laypersons description of my day job is broken down like this:

The lion's share of my time is spent performing isotope measurements, diagnosing and repairing instruments, quality controlling data from the instruments. Making hay while the sun shines. These are incredibly sensitive and specialized instruments requiring a lot of training and experience to keep running. It is a full time job unto itself.

The rest of my time is broken down between generating samples from natural materials (coral skeletons, fossils, etc. etc.), processing and prepping them to run, reading and keeping up with current literature, and interpreting/writing/publishing my own paleoclimate records.

We also have to collect the sample material. Caving in the Solomon Islands and Vanuatu, drilling uplifted fossil corals, etc. These are infrequent trips that are focused bursts of grueling work.
    Last edited by ChrisATX; October 1st, 2013 at 04:46 PM.
    357and40 likes this.

2. Remove Ads

So, after a drilled sample lands in your lab (say, coral fossil), about how long does it take to 'run' it through whatever analyses you do? From pre-processing to making the graph?