Ugly side of sports:Coach spills soda to delay game

This is a discussion on Ugly side of sports:Coach spills soda to delay game within the Off Topic & Humor Discussion forums, part of the The Back Porch category; Unbeleivable....I have been a youth hockey coach for years and have taught my kids that you win on your merits, not cheap tricks or dirty ...

Like Tree17Likes
  • 1 Post By suntzu
  • 2 Post By oldskeetshooter
  • 2 Post By tdave
  • 2 Post By msgt/ret
  • 2 Post By blitzburgh
  • 2 Post By BugDude
  • 2 Post By maxwell97
  • 2 Post By archer51
  • 2 Post By oldskeetshooter

Thread: Ugly side of sports:Coach spills soda to delay game

Unbeleivable....I have been a youth hockey coach for years and have taught my kids that you win on your merits, not cheap tricks or dirty play. The other coach and I had one of the best teams west of the Mississippee and we would bench the star player during a championship game if he broke the rules.

Anyway, I digress. An NBA coach spills a soda on the court with 8.3 seconds to go. He had no more timeouts and wanted to have time to diagram a play. That in my book is not clever....it is flat out cheating. You used up your dang timeouts so manage your team accordingly.
    What a terrible example for kids and other coaches out there of all sports. Worse, he blows it off when he gets fined:
    Despite receiving a $50,000 fine from the NBA on Thanksgiving Day for his action, Kidd said the plan, which he said he concocted after “listening to other coaches or other owners talk about coaches and what they’ve done,” worked as he had hoped.

”Paul [Pierce] got a great look, but the league fined me for something that I probably shouldn’t have done,” he said. ”We’ll move on.”
    gatorbait51 likes this.
    Then I heard the voice of the Lord saying, “Whom shall I send? And who will go for us?”
    And I said, “Here am I. Send me!”

Isaiah 6:8

Distinguished Member
    Georgia..South of the mountains, north of the sand flies.