Question for those with ballistic vests

This is a discussion on Question for those with ballistic vests within the Off Topic & Humor Discussion forums, part of the The Back Porch category; I am looking into getting some body armor and am not sure of the set up i want. I pretty much have it all planned ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree34Likes

Thread: Question for those with ballistic vests

Question for those with ballistic vests

I am looking into getting some body armor and am not sure of the set up i want. I pretty much have it all planned out except for the back plate armor. I am getting a condor plate carrier and ar500 plates. I am getting a curved front plate with a shooters cut. The back plate is what i am not sure on, first should i get a shooters cut or not, second should i go with a curved or flat plate on the back, or does it not really make a difference. I am new to all the armor stuff just figured i should get some while i still could and figured it would be good to have next to the bed if something goes bump in the night and of course for a SHTF scenario. Any help is appreciated.

2. Remove Ads

Take note that AR500 will not stop AP rounds or really high powered stuff past about 30 06 ..

You want to get anti spall layers ... I would say shooters cut front and back imop... The condor is ok just a bit bulky for me and heavy... Note steel armor weight a crap ton and takes a few to thrown on ...

If you just want something to thrown on fast you look a the Palm vest ..Will stop up to a 44 mag ( still hurt like heck though) and has a holster for a light and gun on it .. Throw in on and go ... To me one of the faster to put on vest ..Not as much protection then say a full vest but covers the heart/lungs etc the usally you die very fast if shot here spots .. And you can add plates if you want

Frankly unless your exepecing a hit squard with AK47s to come in the door I would stick with light soft armor easy to get on fast and more comffy just imop