What are your opinions on Private Detectives?

This is a discussion on What are your opinions on Private Detectives? within the Off Topic & Humor Discussion forums, part of the The Back Porch category; I'm asking on this particular forum as we are a civil, well informed group that will almost certainly have opinions on the matter. There is ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: What are your opinions on Private Detectives?

I'm asking on this particular forum as we are a civil, well informed group that will almost certainly have opinions on the matter. There is probably a forum out there specifically for Private Detectives but obviously if I asked there the answers would be biased.

I'm probably getting near to a crossroads in my life, I may be changing career paths in the next few years. Presently I am a contractor, I do ok and I enjoy it but it isn't what I want to do for the rest of my life.
    I'm 40, my knees sometimes feel older than that, if I keep doing what I'm doing I'll probably wear my body out.
    So I was listening to the radio today and they were discussing changing career, and how to find what you should be doing. I'm well suited to what I do now but as I want to change I looked at my other skills and came to the conclusion that I would very likely make a good private detective.

• I have a strong sense of detail, I am very observant.
    • I have great people skills, across the social spectrum.
    • I'm a good judge of character but not a fool that trusts everyone.
    • I love doing research, reading data, comparing results.
    • I have previously done plain clothes retail Security work, loss prevention and apprehension of thieves.

But what I don't know is what it takes to be a Private Detective, obviously as it's something I haven't previously considered.
    Do they even still exist in any great number? Do people still use them? And if so, what work do they get?