Volunteer?

This is a discussion on Volunteer? within the Off Topic & Humor Discussion forums, part of the The Back Porch category; Besides their full time job – some people volunteer for other things. Red Cross, Fire Rescue, Helping the sick or elderly or maybe Police Auxiliary ...

Thread: Volunteer?

Distinguished Member Array ArmyCop's Avatar

Volunteer?

Besides their full time job – some people volunteer for other things.
    Red Cross, Fire Rescue, Helping the sick or elderly or maybe Police Auxiliary \ Reserve Officers.

All are very worthwhile and help the community.

I am a Police Auxiliary Officer. It’s my way of helping my community, full time officers (backup right there without having to wait for another Police Car to come up). It’s very satisfying for me.

Most times you’d think it boring but still enjoy the company and conversation of the full time officers I ride with. Sometimes very busy (working an accident on the interstate with cars\trucks zooming by). Maybe a call for a domestic problem, shop lifter, fight, robbery or possibly respond to a shooting or several other situations – Your right there with the full time officer, his\her temporary partner for a few hours.

The ones I ride with really appreciate my being there. Their “Thanks for riding” after each time is a reward in itself.

Today was really really invigorating. Our city has a FATS for a few weeks. Fire Arms Training System.
    Computerized Giant Screen projecting almost endless possible “Shoot / Don’t Shoot” type scenarios. Some of which call for pepper spray. The handguns you use and the pepper spray is hooked up to the system. You have to engage the mag & rack a round. When you fire – the gun recycles (via air hose) just about like it would in real life. The pepper spray is also connected to the system via cable of some kind.